Test shoot – FMP

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 11.12.06

The opening shot of the film is supposed to show how lonely she is… The idea of the train going past was to disorientate the audience so that the first thing they see confuses them (because it going so fast) after that they are left with a girl stood alone and sad. I like how this shot was framed but looking back at it I would have had the camera closer to her… However this was difficult with the trains and keeping everyone safe. We did check train times to make sure we could go on the and around the tracks.

The idea behind this shot was to show time passing, but it ended up looking too jumpy, this isn’t something that will make the final cut. Another reason I don’t like it is because Id rather have stood in the middle of one side of the tracks and her her off centre… Just a preference and to break up the rhythm from the first shot being centred

This shot when colour corrected could be amazing… The reason is because the focus is on the lantern and not on the girl. This shows the main focus of the film and the audience knows that the girl and the lantern will be coming together. This shot was filmed at least 10 times because of placement and getting the right amount of blur when she moves it.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 11.13.07

I DO NOT LIKE THIS SHOT ONE BIT! This is because I wanted to show movement, but it ended up looking like a moving potato… The slider should have been higher and I should ahem told her to walk slower… But alas this is the rubbish I ended up with.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 11.13.15

This shot would have  been better from the opposite side, main reasoning is because the lantern blends in to the railings and you loose the focus. Also it set perfectly centred….Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 11.13.56

This is probably my favourite shot from the test shoot this is because I had to think outside of the box to get it. We started off with the camera on the tripod at the same height of the swing, it needed motion, the static shot wasn’t allowing the breathing room it needed. So i put the camera on the swing, this worked but the height was wrong, so we moved the swing up and this is the final product. I also like how you can see the chains from the swing the camera is sat on.Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 11.14.12

The shots so far were pretty basic, so I thought it was a good idea to lie on the floor under the swing with the camera and get this shot, I like how it is out of focus and its like the camera isn’t even there, I feel like this shot is very free.


Things I learnt from my test shoot:

  • Train tracks are an unsafe place to film and I should have been a responsible adult and changed locations.
  • The static tripod shots weren’t doing the film justice and that I should allow the camera movement to be more free and flowing.
  • That she isn’t the right actor for the job, I mean this in the way that she doesn’t fit the image of the girl in my head.
  • That most of the footage I filmed is useless in the end
About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

