Ideas Development & Research

29/03/17

Research on my final idea

The idea I have chosen is the film about the girl and lanterns.


Firstly I will look at hooded figures in other films.

The first character that reached out to me was No-Face (カオナシ kaonashi) he is a spirit in the Japanese animated film Spirited Away. He is shown to be capable of reacting to emotions and ingesting other individuals in order to gain their personality and physical traits. No-Face is a lonely spirit who begins to follow Chihiro after having developed an interest in her sincerity. His vocabulary consisted of grunts and moans as opposed to coherent words. This character is what inspired me to create a figure in my film in the way that you can not get a read on him, this will make the audience unsteady and unsure of this character.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Another character I feel like relates to my idea is Frank from Donnie Darko, although in the film Frank talks, he is seen as a mysterious figure throughout the film that leaves people confused on who he really is. Frank’s objective in the film is to guide Donnie in his path to correcting the timeline of the primary universe by returning the jet engine to its original universe. As confusing as it sounds the gist of the film is Frank following Donnie around in order to create an outcome at the end of the film. The way I will link Frank in to my film is too make the audience scared of him at first, this will build tension and the audience will see him as a threat. By the end of the film I will reveal Jack’s true colours and show the audience that my character is harmless.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 09.30.32

The golden compass

The Golden Compass stood out to me too because the characters have Daemons.

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 09.37.28

Deffinition of Daemon

Lyra Belacqua lives in a parallel world in which human souls take the form of lifelong animal companions called daemons. Dark forces are at work in the girl’s world, and many children have been kidnapped by beings known as Gobblers. Lyra vows to save her best friend, Roger, after he disappears too. She sets out with her daemon (Pantalaimon known as Pan), a tribe of seafarers, a witch, an ice bear and a Texas airman on an epic quest to rescue Roger and save her world.The idea of a soul being in another body/being inspired me to create a connection between the characters in my film. Jack will be something only Rhiannon can see which will add another dimension to the film.


Mental health.

The meaning behind this film is me trying to deal with my demons. In  the way that mental illness has effected me I have felt like I am battling to succeed because of something holding me back. However in the past year I have realised that my mental illness doesn’t scare me anymore, I am accepting of it. This sparked the idea to create a fictional story explaining my battles. I wanted people to see that mental illness isn’t scary, however I am trying to do this in a way where people don’t feel sympathetic. I don’t want my film to be a sob story about how hard its been. I want it to capture the triumph over it.

In 2012 I was diagnosed with anxiety and situational depression. Up until 2017 I have battled everyday with my demons. I struggled to keep my education on track and keep social relationships. Because of this I felt alone, this is something my character will show in the film. As well as this I have recently been diagnosed with ADHD, this will be captured in the film by fast cutting shots, representing the restlessness it gives me.

Despite the filming having a true meaning of the sadness I’ve been through I intend to capture how happy I am now I have overcome

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Films about mental health:

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.02.38Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.02.59Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.03.32Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.03.56Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.04.08

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.06.18Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.06.45Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.06.51Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.06.59Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 11.08.30


Music videos:

I’ll be good:

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.14.02Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.14.12Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.14.26


God’s Whisper:

God’s whisper was a big influence to my film, this is because the whole video makes me think of a free spirit. I love the way you can see how everyone is enjoying themselves, also how the lyrics reflect what is going on. I chose to research it because of the pretty shots and mainly for the party scene at the end. I love how you see hoe the fire moves and the way everyones spirits are high.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.16.37Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.16.44Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.17.02Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.17.21Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.17.55


Never forget you: 

I researched this because of the monster in the video. The connection between the monster and the little girl makes me think about the connection between the two characters in the film. The thing that stood out most to me was the daisy, you see it throughout the video and the girl keeps it when she grows up. This is cute and shows compassion. This is the inspiration behind the lanterns.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.31.56Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.32.03Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.32.12Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.32.19Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.32.26Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.32.33Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.33.00Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.33.12Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.35.05Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.35.29

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 14.36.17


Lying is the most fun:

The way everyone is walking around with fishbowls on their heads is another inspiration to the lanterns. When his breaks she is so lost without him that hers breaks too. I love how they are both brought back to the ocean and the way that they are so in love that they come back to life.

 


Music and permissions (CC)

The original choice for my music was I’ll be good by Jaymes Young, however due to copyright reasons and the fact of if I wanted to submit this in to film festivals I couldn’t, I have to find something copyright free or get permission. This means I have to research something that works wit the theme and I have permission to use.

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

I researched a little in to what I must do to use creative commons correctly. This is things like giving the artist full credit and usually linking social media and where the music originated from.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.33.09

This is on most tracks of music. Meaning full credit must be given.

I started by looking on  free music archive. I found some music that would work with the theme however I didn’t feel like they had a connection with the film. I kept looking with no luck of finding any music I like or that would fit the feel of the film.

http://freemusicarchive.org

I then tried soundcloud.

Soundcloud has a feature where you can filter all the tracks to what you want them for. Its helpful because it features section where you can use commercially and modify tracks.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.51.32

I put in the search bar that I wanted something “alternative and ambient” The results came up as follows:

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.53.57

I listened to a couple of tracks ad the key word ambient wasn’t doing anything. I looked back on what genre the music I would have like to use and the key work “indie” came up. So I put in the search bar “alternative indie” The results are again as follows:

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.54.07

The first track I thought had potential was “ghost”Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 10.18.46

I listened to the track a few times to get a feel for it, after this I asked for feedback off my cinematographer, she liked it but we both came to the conclusion it was good, but didn’t have the rhythm that we wanted.

After a bit more scrolling I found this track:

Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 10.19.14

And I loved it. It fits the feel of the film how it slowly builds up and the rhythm of it would math with the slow motion we are planning in the film. After listening a couple of times, I messaged the owners on the track and the response I got was amazing!!

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 11.01.10

This means I can use the song in my film and I am super pleased about it. Each time i listen to the song I become more confident about the shoot.


Development of idea:

18552787_1351340058253129_1125240376_o

First draft of idea

18552896_1351340044919797_74972968_o

Second draft of idea

18519412_1351340054919796_1647534821_o

Third draft idea

18519412_1351340088253126_724264325_o

Potential story boarding for idea (draft 3)

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year Two - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ideas Development & Research

  1. Dom Bush says:

    This is a great work Kayla, and it shows that you are really keen to get this character right. Some great research examples.
    Now I want to really see how this will influence your narrative and timeline. How are you going to introduce and develop this character within the film? Will they be present at all times, or pop in at certain points within the story like Frank does in Donnie Darko?
    It’s still not completely clear what Rhiannon is doing throughout the film. There are various narratives within narratives in this film that need worked through and clarified. We can sit down and discuss this in class this week.

    Like

  2. Dom Bush says:

    Production Meeting Notes – -3/05/17

    Went out to shoot without enough planning and realised how important it is to be ready before the shoot. Suggested the shots are used as a test that can be examined and discussed on the blog.
    Really struggling to fill in the gaps in narrative and needed guidance in this area. Had a strong end and some symbolic imagery but not much story between so have blocked out a narrative together.
    Next steps are to break to each part of that narrative down in to scenes are work out what needs organised/tested/planned for each, so:
    Scene breakdown
    Shot list for each scene
    Actors/crew
    Location scout and pics
    Costumes and props

    Like

  3. Dom Bush says:

    Production Meetings – 17/05/17
    Would be good to recognise when you are feeling overwhelmed by the project and separate that from feeling you need to change the idea.
    The idea is really good, we just need to make it work for you, your actors, locations etc.
    Take the simplified scene breakdown that you wrote in our meeting and work from there.
    Next tasks:
    Actors, ask performing arts students and class mates
    New locations
    Who will be the hooded figure
    Have you got enough lanterns?

    You have to write up what we talked about, that is the development of your ideas!!!!!

    Keep going with this, and keep talking to me about it. You can do this, the film will be great!

    Like

  4. Dom Bush says:

    Feedback as of 03/06/17

    The project proposal you have written is good although there is some extraneous information in there that could be edited out a little, for instance. It’s best to keep details about cameras and equipment out of the proposal, we don’t need to know about locations at this stage either. The schedule is excellent with some really good detail within it.
    There is some fantastic research in the generation stage and some great ideas. It would have been to see some more reflective writing within this but it is there in places and I can trace the course through your ideas pretty well. Remember this research must go in your bibliography with your project proposal.
    The development is good but has some gaps, particularly within the narrative and storytelling aspects. It would be good to nail down the key themes of the film (ie, main topics that interest you and will feature in the film) and explore those; this should make the narrative clearer. Try listing the potential problems with the narrative and think about how they will be overcome.
    Well done for getting the pitch and feedback evidenced on your blog, now you must concentrate on getting any tests posted up and analysed and bulking up the pre-production and planning posts. If you can add to the things mentioned above Kayla an keep the energy up for this project I feel confident you can hit a merit. Well done for your hard work so far.

    Micro Targets
    More research relating to narrative and story and strong endings
    Test shoots posted to the blog
    Explore key themes within film

    Like

Leave a Reply

