Ideas Generation

“The capacity to bring old elements into new combinations depends largely on the ability to see relationships.”


 Ideas generation on themes in class:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


  • Are humans able to come up with ideas or is that something we can/need to learn?

No one starts off being able to be perfect at anything. From the moment you’re born you have to learn to walk, before you run. This is something in film I need to put in to practice. I see the end result and forget about all the other production that goes in to it. I think learning how to manage this is important. Developing ideas is something you need time for, this way you will get the best end result possible, and all the work in between will mean something.

  • What stops you or gets in the way when you are coming up with ideas?

Confidence in my own work is something I really struggle with, this is because I worry about what others will say about my creativity, with this it also affects my creative thoughts. Pressure/time to complete or think of an idea for a deadline is another thing I freak out about, I tend to rush and panic, which means I end up creating a film I am not happy with. Motivation to start a project is hard for me because I think need a push start, but in reality I can do it if I put my mind to it.

  • What can we do to help ourselves come up with ideas?

I like listening to music when coming up with film ideas, this is because I can visualise specific shots then write them down. As well as this I enjoy going for walks, this allows me to clear my head and think about stories I have come up with and how they would translate to film.  Taking screen grabs from sequences I like also its me visualise an end result. I find bouncing ideas off others is helpful, getting feedback about good and bad things is valuable and makes you think of other possibilities.

  • Can you talk about and/or provide links to some useful tools for generating ideas?

These are my favourite playlists to listen too whilst working. The calm beat allows your mind to flow creatively and this is when my best written work is produced. I find that this kind of music relaxes me so I’m not concentrating on loud intense music.


15/03/17 Free writing.

During my walk sat by the river throwing rocks in to the water and started to think how every rock made a different splash. This made me think about the theme identity. In a weird way I compared the rocks to people. Every rock felt different and looked different. Some were little; large, soft, rough, cold, wet, sharp, grey, brown, orange and stripy. This lead to me to thinking how I could capture this in shots of my FMP. After sitting by the river I walked around a small rocky path. I saw all kinds of trees tangled together, this to me showed how the relationships between nature is relatable to society. The way the branches intertwined and grow together shows how close they are. In the grass beside the river were daffodils, again all shapes and sizes, even though flowers are classed as such a beautiful thing they were all unique and individual. This walk allowed me to see how nature and human life have a big link. This has helped me see shots for my FMP and future films.


Ideas:

  • Idea one – Sound scape. Every morning my dad does the same thing, he gets up uses the toilet you hear him walk downstairs, shuffle his slippers on and open the stair gate. From this he says good morning then goes on to make his toast, in which he burns every morning and you hear him scrape the burnt bits off.

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 09.52.30

  • Idea two – I wrote this story for GCSE english and thought I could create a film out of it. However I encountered the problem of getting the amount of descriptive details from the story in to a film. I figured that because writing scripts is not my strong point I would miss this out. As well as this, I don’t have time to create/find locations and actors that fit the parts.
  • Idea three –  Whilst looking at the topic identity I realised that something that makes me, me, is my tattoos. I then got interested in tattoo culture and how in other cultures tattoos represent something completely different. In todays society tattoos are looked down upon because they are associated with people who are “nobodies” whereas in other cultures they represent how high up in the community you are and show your life stories. It interested me to create a documentary about how others feel judged and outsiders reactions to their tattoos.

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 09.52.34

  • Idea four – My first thoughts was to show a girl discovering who she was, however I  felt like this had no story to it. After this I thought she could be running away from something/someone. I then came up with the idea that she is being followed by a hooded figure. The concept of the film is that everyone has lanterns, which are lit. However the girls is not, she is upset and frustrated by this, the hooded figure comes in to this because they are trying to light her lantern but she thinks the hoodies figure is a threat. The film will end with her having a lit lantern and she is holding hands with the hooded figure.

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 09.52.42


“An ideal is nothing more or less than a new combination of old elements.”

Tattoo and body modification culture around the world:

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 09.43.06.png

Mind map

 Polynesian tattoo culture: Tattoo was a way delivering information of its owner. It’s also a traditional method to fetch spiritual power, protection and strength. The Polynesians use this as a sign of character, position and levels in a hierarchy. Polynesian peoples believe that a person’s mana, their spiritual power or life force, is displayed through their tattoo. Almost every Polynesian got a tattoo in ancient time. On the basis of mythology, human learned the art of tattooing from the 2 sons of the God of Creation Ta’aroa.Tattooing is a sacred ceremony in Polynesian culture. The tattoos and their location on the body were determined by one’s genealogy, position within the society and personal achievements.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.52.17

Traditional Polynesian tattooed man

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.52.54

The process of Polynesian tattoos

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.53.12

Traditional Polynesian tattoo equipment


African Tattoo Culture & Body modifications: While contemporary tattoos involve puncturing the skin for inserting pigment, Cicatrisation involves cutting the skin more severely to create wounds, which results in a decorative pattern of scar tissue. This popular technique for scarring involves two steps – piercing the skin and then, rubbing the wound with ash. The latter step is primarily done to inflame the skin, which later heals to form a raised scar. As well as this method of tattooing, Africans use stretching as a way to determine pecking order within tribes. Lip plates and ear stretchers are associated with oratory and singing. The largest plates are worn by the greatest orators and war chiefs. The oldest know body modifications in African culture are from Ötzi the Ice Man, a frozen mummy dating all the way back to 3300 BCE, is the earliest known example of body modification. Discovered by German tourists in 1991, the oldest known human mummy sports several tattoos around his his back, ankles and knees, as well as ear lobes stretched to around 0 gauge (around 8mm).

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.54.01

Otzi the iceman’s tattoos

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.54.40

Cicatrisation

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.54.30

Facial Cicatrisation

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.55.01

Traditional cicatrisation  and ear stretching

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.55.26

Lip plating


Indian Mehndi: Mehndi is a form of body art from Ancient India, in which decorative designs are created on a person’s body, using a paste, created from the powdered dry leaves of the henna plant(Lawsonia inermis). Henna is traditionally used for special occasions like holidays, birthdays and weddings in Africa, Pakistan, India, and the Middle East.  The most popular of the traditions is the Mehndi (henna) Night where the bride, her family, relatives and friends get together to celebrate the wedding to come.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 14.16.46.png

Wedding Mehndi

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 14.16.55.png

A brides Mehndi

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 14.17.26.png

Complex forms of Mehndi for a wedding


16/3/17

“Don’t judge a book by it’s cover” 

With the whole idea of tattoos and people being judged for them, I thought why not research people being judged in general. I thought it would be appropriate to create a tally chart on how people feel they are judged by others negatively. I asked 25 people to honestly answer and the results are scary.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 11.43.11.png


21/03/17

StoryTelling

Storytelling is a way of keeping human, this is because it shows how creative we can be. It shows that we have emotion, connection and validation. We have wrote stories since the start of time in the way of pictures by cavemen. This is because humans want to document life’s experiences. A story is something with a beginning, middle and end, but not necessarily in that order. A story is a message, there has to be a reason however small it is on why it has been written. Stories can be of anything from make believe aliens, to life experiences. They are things told through generations. For example fairy tales have been around since the 17th century, they have been re-written and told millions of time to suit the time and place of specific people. Stories have always been and always will be a journey that engages you. Stories are about getting from A-Z regardless of how you do it. You can go from A-E-G-K-M-V-Z but the story is still there.

Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 13.57.18.png


23/3/17

Elevator pitch

The idea I put forward to the class was as follows:

My film is about a girl discovering herself. We travel with her and a hoodie figure who is her dark side. I plan to film in various locations showing her journey. The film is going to show her low and high sides in life. I want this to be filmed to a song called I’ll be good. The song has a mellow beat to it and I feel like the lyrics reflect the message I want to portray.

Feedback:

  • Might be cool to have the dark side out of focus in the background, visa versa.
  • What locations will I shoot in?
  • How will people know the hooded figure is her ‘dark side’
  • What is learnt at the end?
  • Will I be filming the same person in different costumes?
  • How will I make her ‘dark side’ clear?
  • When she takes her hood down will it be the same character?
  • Will there be any dialogue?
  • What is the emotional payoff to the audience?
  • How will I make the audience know it is the same person?
  • How will it end?
  • How will you conclude the film?
  • Do I have consent to use the song?
  • Will there be an outcome for the audience at the end?
  • Will there be an emotional attachment between the audience and the character?
  • Backstory?
  • Why does she have a dark side?
  • Surely if she has a ‘dark side’ she need a light side?

 

30/3/17

Final idea

I have decided the idea I am going to film is idea four, this is because I feel like this is the most versatile and exciting idea.

Idea one has not been chosen because of the difficulty to create a story with it, also I feel like this would be more of a personal film. I still can’t think of having anything visually, possibly a blurry video of it all so you focus mainly on the sounds. However I feel like this is out of my comfort zone and I am not confident on how it will turn out. The main reason for this is because I am not confident in sound recording, this is something I can’t afford to learn now, mainly because of the deadlines. I don’t want to have to re record all the time because it doesn’t sound right. I could get someone else in the class to do it for me, but then it would feel less personal, which is the whole point of the film.

Idea two would be an interesting film, however I know I can’t fit all of the details and back story in to 2-4 minuets. As well as this finding locations too shoot in would be difficult. I feel like this film should just stay as a story. Writing a script that does the story justice would also be difficult because I would loose so much detail and description.

Idea three was something I was going to go with, however getting more and more in to the culture and origins of tattoos made me realise I would only get footage from this side of the world. I understand I could use stock footage. Despite how interested I was in this idea , it has been done before, the only way I feel like I could create something new, is to travel to other countries and interview people. However on my £0 budget this is not going to happen.

Idea four is my chosen idea, this is because I relate to it and it fits the brief of identity. This idea was inspired by a song called “I’ll be good” by James Young. When I first heard the song I saw the film play though my head. After this I started to develop a story. At first I thought that the hooded figure could be carrying a light that slowly developed throughout the film and becomes her heart at the end if the film. After discussing this with others I came up with the idea that she would be carrying a lantern. This was inspired by Panic! at the discos song “lying is the most fun” where people walk round with fish bowls on their head. The idea is to have her lantern not lit and the end of the film will conclude with her lantern being lit by the hooded figure.

 

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year Two - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ideas Generation

  1. Dom Bush says:

    Kayla Laisby, you have some bloody brilliant ideas here. I’m proud of you.
    I love the idea that every rock is a different shape and size and makes a different splash, its a simple symbolic way to explain human judgement and interpretation. Can you merge it with the tattoo culture concept?
    Love it, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

