UCAS

My personal statement is as follows:

I enjoy the emotional impact film has on people and plan to recreate this in documentaries. I want to convey emotion with the work I create. I first found film as a way of coping and supporting my father through illness. In 2012 I felt like I had to document my family had left for the future. The BBC’s Planet Earth has also been big inspiration due to the fantastic visuals and intriguing stories; I loved the way they create a story and inspire an emotional attachment to the animals in the program.

University appeals to me as a way of broadening my skills and contacts, allowing me one day to travel and document important stories. I want to learn how to develop my films and achieve in the industry, to be taught skills to improve my unique way of creating films, going to university will allow me to produce a bigger portfolio showcasing my skills and expertise.

I’m currently studying UAL Level 3 Film Production at Kendal College. This has taught me a wide range of skills including how to use Adobe Premier Pro, and techniques such as Foley,directing and editing, spoken word, planning video shoots, researching specific topics and then evaluation my progress, recording audio and multi-camera work. This has given me a balanced skill set to begin my journey in to the film industry. I was also lucky enough to be involved with the World Skills national competition, where my team and I had to produce and pitch an original sci-fi B-movie trailer. With this we successfully got to the semi-finals.The pressure of being involved in a national competition was very valuable.

I have also been commissioned to create a music video outside of college for an upcoming
singer-songwriter. This experience allowed me to explore new ways of filmmaking and I was challenged to work with new people and adapt to new locations in order to make the film fit the brief I was given, it also gave me a glimpse of what the industry had to offer.

In 2015 I was approached by Fixers to create a new broadcast with Young Carers. The film was featured on ITV News. I chose the shoot locations and I wrote a piece from personal
experiances as a young carer. I now have good working knowledge to understand how a small short documentary shoot is set up, this then inspired me to create documentaries on my own,relating back to my experience with ITV.

My interests outside of college include snowboarding at the local snow sports centre, where I have taught a young people the basics of the sport. With this I have developed skills such as effective communication, leadership and patience. I have also been involved with volunteer work and fundraising for Help The Heroes and Lakes Alive. Which taught me to deal with the public and patience with others. I have also worked on a live brief for Lakes Comic Arts Festival.

I hope higher education will provide me with the skills to document the world for those who can not see it. My biggest inspiration in life is to make the most of it. With university I want to meet new people and acquire contacts. I want to learn new things everyday so I can push myself to create beautiful things.

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.26.12.png

Offers from 3/5 of my chosen university’s.

The universities I have applied to are:

  • Manchester College/Film School – Film and TV production
  • SAE Institute in Liverpool – Film and TV production
  • Edge Hill – Film and TV production
  • University of Hertfordshire –  Film and TV production
  • The Manchester Metropolitan University – Filmmaking
About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

