FMP – Initial thoughts on the idea

My initial thought on this  project was to include my dad in the film, since then i have thought that this isn’t a good idea, nor something i want. At first i was thinking that i should film us doing things together and just had music to it. I have moved on from that idea for a few reasons, the first being that i don’t want to include my dad in the film now because he doesn’t like the way he looks, because of the weight loss that came with his cancer, i think it would be a hard thing for him to watch. Another reason is i wasn’t going to benefit from it, i wanted to make this film to show my feelings and i feel like if i had just gone with music and no monologue the film wouldn’t have the emotional impact i want it to.

Ive been thinking that i want to make the film like a letter, something I’ve never been able to say to my dad. I feel that showing and describing how i feel will have more of an emotional impact than just the words on their own. I was inspired by the film denali to use footage and photos to get a really emotive feel about it.

I chose to use specific memories that my dad and family would understand. certain things in my monologue are inside jokes that my family will understand, making it more emotive towards them. For example the line where i say ” i guess you could say heels and motorbikes don’t go well together” is a reference to when i got on the bike i slipped because I’m not good at wearing heels, and i burnt my leg on the exhaust pipe. Its things like this that i feel is important to include these to show my family only they will understand to give a more emotional response.

 

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

