FMP – Particular shots.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 3.00.19 PM

I chose to walk away from the camera to show that i am now walking alone, to emphasise the fact that my dad isn’t with me. this also shows how I’m revisiting old places we use to go showing that i miss the memories we use to have, almost like i am stuck in a loop. Also walking away form the camera symbolises that I’m done with walking alone, this adds sadness to the film and makes you feel more emotion.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 3.00.11 PM

I chose to have the last shot of me in a really colourful setting to show that i am happy. I made the contrast higher to show how vibrant the colours are, for example the green grass and my pink hair, i associate bright colours with happy feeling and this is something i think i have achieved its this shot. I wanted the film to end on a loving note and i think i have made it better with this shot.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.59 PM

I included the photo of me with “keep strong” written across my hands because it is the first year i did the race for life for my dad. It is something he always said to me when i was younger and i will always remember those words. I wrote it on my hands to show that he needed to keep strong. Also it helps make the film look less like an “in memory film” and more a keep fighting film.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.47 PM

The video of my dad shows how happy he was and how normal he looked. I included it to make the film happier and because i have always filmed things throughout my life. This is a special time for me so i wanted to include this as a memory. You can also see how careless he looks and that he’s really happy having fun with the family.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.38 PM

This photo was from new years eve the year they told my dad he only had 6 months to live in the June. We were so happy that he got to see the years he has. This photo means a lot to me because we are both so happy. However you can see the change a lot more in this photo than in others.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.29 PM

The photo of me and my dad when i say “mum always said i looked more like you” Shows mine and my dads similarities, for example the gap in our teeth. The fact the photo is blurry makes it look like its a fading memory or that the way we looked then is fading away, me growing older and my dad fighting against the cancer. You can see throughout the film how my dads appearance changes, this photo along with a few others show how he use to look before he was diagnosed.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.20 PMScreen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.10 PM

We both look so happy here and i loved every second of my prom night. Photos of the bike to show how it use to look before it needed fixing, showing the deterioration of my dad in metaphorical terms. This is because when ever i look at our bike or see someone else on a motorbike i think of my dad.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 2.59.01 PM

This one of my favourite photos of me and my dad, this is is my first time in three years that id seen my dad smiling and happy. My prom was the happiest days I’ve had. Just seeing my dad strong enough to be on his bike and him getting to see me in my prom dress, something he was told he wouldn’t see. Im kissing his helmet to show that i love him.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 11.32.40 AM

The shot of me stood in front of the sunset shows contrast between me and the colours of the sunset. I chose to wear a grey hoodie to make me look dull. This is a small detail which i hope makes the sunset more emphasised. I move my hand on to my head to show that I’m feeling saddened or pain when I’m up there alone. This is a small detail friends and family will understand which makes my film more emotional to those people. I chose not to be in the centre of the shot to show that I’m not the focus, it just the emotion.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 3.01.07 PM

The reason i chose to have me sitting down is to show I’m at peace with time passing, however i chose to have it out of focus to show that i wasn’t the focus of the shot. Im trying to show how i want to be up Hampsfell. Another reason i wanted it to be out of focus is to show that I’m blurry/ not complete without my dad being with me up there

I chose to make my ending credits small so that the didn’t overwhelm the screen. This is because the film is full of emotions that to make them huge at the end just wouldn’t fit right. Also to add rhythm to them by making them change with the piano. I think this makes it look/sound better. I also think this is a nice way end such a emotional film. I like how my credits turned out. I fist put “a film by Kayla Laisby” to establish it is my film. “for Alan ‘Frap’ Laisby” because i dedicate it to my dad, included his nickname because that is what i have known  him as since being younger, its a nickname he has had since he was a young boy, his first motorbike mad the sound “frap” when he rode it and it stuck. A little thing that i love about my dad. I said “Keep fighting” because i don’t want my dad to watch it and think I’m making this because its the end. Im making it so he can see all the amazing things we’ve don’t together and how much I’m thanking him for it. I ended my film with “i love you” to make sure my dad understands the message and thats the last thing he sees of my film. Just so it sticks in his head.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 21.54.09.pngI chose to make the camper van shot really bright and vibrant to make it look exciting like i couldn’t wait to go away in the camper. I chose not to re shoot this clip despite it being shaky, this is because the film is forgiving of it because of the words I’m speaking. Im not saying that i did this out of laziness but it was so difficult to try and fix without my dad seining in order to keep it a surprise. Despite this i like how shaky it is, it adds character to the film and goes with the blurry photos. You could say it represents my emotions and how scared i am (will cover up the shakiness) I chose to pan this shot because i wanted to create a different aspect to my film. The movement represents the motion of the camper van moving like I’ve always wanted it too. I tried to use the light to make the shot brighter to lighten the mood of the film and to hopefully create lens flares, however i didn’t get the right time of the day to achieve this, however i could have added them in in premier afterwards, but i didn’t think it was needed when i was editing the final film.

The reason i chose to zoom in in some photos is to show the important parts, Denali does this really well. It adds motion to the film with is more exciting than just the photos being still. Initially i put zoom on all the photos, but i found that it was too much, i then only used the zoom on the photos i thought were important, for example the “keep strong” written on my hands or the photos of me and my dad at my mums birthday when were both smiling.

I choses to have a fade at the beginning of my film because i thought it would give a nice slow start to film, also because the colours of the sunset would be to bold for the look I’m going for (emotional) I did play around with how fast the fade happened and found the right speed that wasn’t too fast, defeating the object of adding the fade, or too slow, making it slow boring start to the film. Another point is i chose to have the titles fade in so that when they appeared they weren’t so in your face. I wanted it to be gradual to add a sense of question. After trying to come up with a title for the film i decided on “to Dad” This is because i wanted it to sound like the beginning of a letter. I think this makes it more personal and direct to him, giving him the dignity he deserves.

 

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

