Fonts – FMP

The font choice in my film will have a big impact on how mature it is. Ive decided to got with American Typewriter. I have chosen this because it looks old fashioned and is plain. I wanted it to be simple because i want it to be easy to read. I have chosen it to be over the sunset because i think this shot is simple and ambient. There isn’t too much going on so it doesn’t look too busy and people can focus on what the text says. I didn’t want the text to be in the centre, rather have it on the hills so it looks like it is in the sunset, this is because i wanted it to look like it fits in tho the background to show that is what i think about when I’m on hampsfell.Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 1.35.15 PMI think just the plain white font gets lost in the background too much so I’m going to add a shadow to see if i can make it stand out a little bit more without being too bold. The white doesn’t stand out enough in the orange and pinks. Adding a shadow will make a subtle difference to hopefully make it stand out a little more.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 1.35.37 PMI added a really light shadow in brown because i thought black would be to contrasting and too harsh on the rest of the image. I think this gives a nice effect, however i think that making it a little darker will look better because i think it is still a little lost in the background.Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 1.36.04 PM

This is the shadow in black and it is too bold and in your face. It takes away how delicate the letters looked and makes the background less of the focus. I made it more transparent to try and see if it made any difference but it hasn’t.Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 1.37.53 PM

This is the shadow in full black with no transparency on. I really don’t like how this looks i feel like it drowns out the rest of the image and makes it look to cartoon like. Im going to reduce the transparency and and make the black fade out more.Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 1.38.29 PM

This is the look i’m going to use. The black isn’t too prominent and i like how it stands out enough to see it properly but doesn’t look too bold. I also like how the shadows blend in to the hills making it look more like the writing is on the hills instead of being placed there.

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fonts – FMP

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    This is good experimentation, Kayla, showing a keen aesthetic sense of how you want your titles to appear. I would like to see you apply the same experimentation to your font choice and placement, though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

