FMP – Sunset test

I shot this over 10 minutes and then sped it up to create a time lapse. However because the exposure is constantly changing in a sunset the clip flickers and makes it look awful. I’m going to re recored this on my camera with a time lapse remote which will make it look like a clean shot with no flickers.

One thing i could do to this clip to make it not flicker is removing individual frames to stop the exposure going all over the place. However I know this is a timely thing to do, but done right it should fix the problem.

A time lapse lets you see change in a small period of time. This is something I’m trying to show in my film. To show how my dad changed over the years, but condense it in to two minutes. I think the impact it will give on the film is showing how quickly time passes, but i am just stood still watching it. This is something that has a lot of meaning to it. I am moving forward in time, yet i feel like i’m not getting anywhere. Im just sat watching my dad disappear.

I think I am going to re film this. With my Iphone on time lapse setting like my train journey time lapse. Im also going to use mine and colleges cameras all on different exposures and setting so that I can see a range of effects and see what I need to change in order to get the best images I can to give the best flowing effect in my final film. I think having the shutter speed lower will allow the camera to change exposure without overloading it with flicker.

 

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FMP – Sunset test

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    Flicker is the bane of every day-to-night timelapse, Kayla. There are other things you could have considered, like removing individual frames, but that’s an extremely long-winded way of getting the right effect (I should know—I’ve done it myself). Timelapse is a really challenging way to film, and this is (again!) a place you could write more and go into more detail. What does timelapse achieve? What impact can it bring to a film? You could include some tutorial videos and shoot more test sequences, experimenting with shutter speed, shot interval and so on. Then there’s post-production too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

