FMP – Music choice

I want the music to my film to be meaningful to what i am showing on screen. Here are a few choices i have.

 

  • Youth by daughter

 

I like the lyrics to this:

Shadows settle on the place, that you left.
Our minds are troubled by the emptiness.
Destroy the middle, it’s a waste of time.
From the perfect start to the finish line.

And if you’re still breathing, you’re the lucky ones.
‘Cause most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs.
Setting fire to our insides for fun
Collecting names of the lovers that went wrong
The lovers that went wrong.

We are the reckless,
We are the wild youth
Chasing visions of our futures
One day we’ll reveal the truth
That one will die before he gets there.

And if you’re still bleeding, you’re the lucky ones.
‘Cause most of our feelings, they are dead and they are gone.
We’re setting fire to our insides for fun.
Collecting pictures from a flood that wrecked our home,
It was a flood that wrecked this home.

And you caused it,
And you caused it,
And you caused it

Well I’ve lost it all, I’m just a silhouette,
A lifeless face that you’ll soon forget,
My eyes are damp from the words you left,
Ringing in my head, when you broke my chest.
Ringing in my head, when you broke my chest.

And if you’re in love, then you are the lucky one,
‘Cause most of us are bitter over someone.
Setting fire to our insides for fun,
To distract our hearts from ever missing them.
But I’m forever missing him.

And you caused it,
And you caused it,
And you caused it

I think that some lyrics in this will suit my final piece. However i think this song is more to a friend or my generation, rather than towards my dad. I like how this song is simple which allows me to use my film to tell the story more. But i think that this will not emphasise how important the music in the piece is. This music will not work for me because i think that the music is too off topic for what im going for, which is for the music to be emotive and mean something to the film.

  • Hold on till may by Pierce The Veil.

The lyrics to this song are about a girl who committed suicide. However that is not relevant to my film, despite this I like the acoustic version because i feel that it is a beautiful piece of music. This piece of music is slow and wont keep the rhythm of my monologue that i want. I want my monologue to sound happy and up beat. This music wont go with it and create the sound i am looking for. This is not the music i am going to use.

  • Sleepwalking by Bring Me The Horizon

I feel like this another acoustic version of a heavy metal song that i like. Again the lyrics are not relevant. Just another beautiful pice of music. This is not the music i am going to use.  Again this song will not create the right tempo in my final film, which is why i am not going to use it. Another reason is because i want an instrumental section to be able to speak my monologue and i want meaningful lyrics afterwards. This music is not the right music to use.

  • Its only by ODESZA

This is the music that is at the end of the short film Denali, which is a film that has influenced mine very much. I like the way the song goes and i think that will be nice to put with my film because of the way it flows. I like how this has sections of no lyrics and it gives an ambient sound to the film.

Here are the lyrics:

I heard the news today;
That you’re not mine to keep.
Don’t struggle too much now
While I kill you in your sleep.What is lust if it’s not being by yourself?
I won’t be gentle to the body on the shelfIt’s only water
It’s only fire
It’s only loveIt’s only slaughter
We’re only liars
It’s only bloodThey’re only thoughts that I’m having;
Thoughts safe within my head.
You’re only crying
You’re only dying
You’re only red.

I heard the news today,
That you weren’t mine to save
I hope that you’re comfortable
In the quiet lasting grave

What is lust if it’s not being by yourself?
I won’t be gentle to the body on the shelf.

It’s only water
It’s only fire
It’s only love

It’s only slaughter
We’re only liars
It’s only blood

They’re only thoughts that I’m having;
Thoughts safe within my head.
You’re only crying
You’re only dying
You’re only dead

It’s only water
It’s only fire
It’s only love

It’s only slaughter
We’re only liars
It’s only blood

They’re only thoughts that I’m having;
Thoughts safe within my head.
You’re only crying
You’re only dying
You’re only dead

I think some of the lyrics are relevant to my film, so this is a strong contender to my final piece.
  • With me by Sum 41

I love the lyrics to this, however i cant find an acoustic version of the song that is by the band, they are all covers. The reason for not using this in my final piece is because i don’t like how there are not parts in it long enough to be able to speak my monologue in a slow way without it overlapping with other lyrics.

Here are the lyrics:

I don’t want this moment to ever end,
Where everything’s nothing without you.
I’d wait here forever just to, to see you smile,
‘Cause it’s true, I am nothing without you.

Through it all, I’ve made my mistakes.
I stumble and fall, but I mean these words.

I want you to know,
With everything I won’t let this go.
These words are my heart and soul.
I’ll hold on to this moment, you know,
As I bleed my heart out to show,
And I won’t let go.

Thoughts read, unspoken, forever in vow,
And pieces of memories fall to the ground.
I know what I didn’t have, so I won’t let this go,
‘Cause it’s true, I am nothing without you.

All the streets, where I walked alone,
With nowhere to go, have come to an end.

I want you to know,
With everything I won’t let this go.
These words are my heart and soul.
I’ll hold on to this moment, you know,
As I bleed my heart out to show,
And I won’t let go.

In front of your eyes, it falls from the skies,
When you don’t know what you’re looking to find.
In front of your eyes, it falls from the skies,
When you just never know what you will find.

I don’t want this moment to ever end,
Where everything’s nothing without you.

I want you to know,
With everything I won’t let this go.
These words are my heart and soul.
I’ll hold on to this moment, you know,
As I bleed my heart out to show,
And I won’t let go.

Im going to link the original version because i think that it could be an option. However i think the song is to heavy for what i am trying to create.

 

  • In memory by Ed Sheeran

The lyrics to this song are very meaningful, however i think the lyrics are too deep and literal for what i am going for. Also i don’t like how slow the song is. Im looking for something more upbeat and happy sounding. This music wont give my film room to breathe because of how sad it sounds, im not trying to make a sad film.

Here are the lyrics:

I write this song in memory of
The wayward smile
The boy we won’t forget
The soul you took away from us
The river flows
The tears that we wept

Missing you
Is all that needs to be said
More than blue
The words inside my head

And I know that you’re gone

The cheeky smile
Of jokes and laughs
The memories of times
We crossed the line
The stepping stones
Across my mind
Washed away
We all now feel so blind

Missing you
Is all that needs to be said
More than blue
The words inside my head

And I know that you’re gone

Goodbye

The song i want to use has to be more up beat than this.  Also it is more of a memory song, which is not something that fits with my idea. However i am going to consider this.

I love this song and the lyrics, i think it a stunning piece of music. i have chosen the instrumental version because i don’t want the lyrics to influence the film. This piece of music is too slow and sad for what my monologue is going to sound like. This music sounds too sad and more like an in memory sound. I want my film to give the audience a sense of happiness. This is not the music i am going to use.

This song was written for someone who lost their best friend to cancer. The lyrics are extremely beautiful and i think that this goes well with my film. I like the tempo of this song it is they right speed for how i want my film to flow. There is an instrumental section in this which is long enough for me to speak my monologue with leaving enough room to breathe and allow more room for footage.

Here are the lyrics:

I’m ready to go, I’m ready to go
Can’t do it alone, can’t do it alone
I’m ready to run through the heat of the sun
Can’t do it alone, can’t do it aloneI’m ready to fall, so tired of it all
Down deep in a hole, can’t do it alone
I’m ready to climb this mountain inside
Impossible heightsSaid you’d always be my white blood
Circulate the right love
Giving me your white blood
I need you right here with meSaid you’d always be my white blood
Elevate my soul above
Giving me your white blood
I need you right here with me
Here with me

I’m ready to go, I’m ready to go
Can’t do it alone, can’t do it alone
I’m ready to run through the heat of the sun
Can’t do it alone, can’t do it alone

I’m ready to hope, swing me out of the low
Wide awake in the glow, can’t do it alone
I’m ready to fly, uncover the light
Impossible heights

Said you’d always be my white blood
Circulate the right love
Giving me your white blood
I need you right here with me

Said you’d always be my white blood
Elevate my soul above
Giving me your white blood
I need you right here with me
I need you right here with me
Here with me

Said you’d always be my white blood
Circulate the right love
Giving me your white blood
I need you right here with me

Said you’d always be my white blood
Elevate my soul above
Giving me your white blood
I need you right here with me
I need you right here with me

I think this is going to be the music i am going to use in my film.
About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FMP – Music choice

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    There’s a lot of listening in here, Kayla, and a lot of immediate emotional responses, but there’s no analysis! To lift this, you’ll need to unpack the emotional impact of each song and explore in more specific ways how it might impact or influence the direction of your film. You’ve written briefly about WHAT each song is, but not really explored WHY and HOW it might work for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

