Case study – Film 9

Starting again with a new idea…

Im going to try and recreate a horror sequence in the style of this video:

Fairly local by Twenty One Pilots. The director of this video is Reel Bear Media, who directs all the videos for Twenty One Pilots. The use light as a strong representation of life and how the band is feeling, usually reflecting the lyrics. I will link more videos involving light the directors have done:

  • Ride

 

  • Lane Boy

  • Fairly Local

I like the use of the 2 contrasting colors of light (blue and red) It gives it a hot cold feel which I really like.

Some screen grabs of the video I am hoping to recreate:

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 11.11.55 AM

I want to try making shadows being a sheet or paper like this to see if i can achieve the same effect. They used frosted glass which is not available at college. I used a big white sheet in the photos i recreated because it was thinner than the paper we found.Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 11.12.26 AM

I like how they make it look like there is natural light coming through the windows to create the silhouette. This is also something I want to try.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 11.13.00 AM

The red light makes it look mean and warm. I like the way it goes between the two contrasting colors.Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 11.13.11 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-03 at 11.13.26 AM

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 11.14.05 AM

I like the light in the microphone and the shadows it creates on Tyler’s face.

Ive tried to recreate some of the shots in the video. The set up i used was a white sheet hung over a pole and a red and blue light on either side behind the sheet. However I found that with both lights pointing towards the sheet, the red over powered the blue. So I used a large piece of whit card to bounce the light back on to the sheet. This made both colors contrast really well.

Just Blue lights:IMG_8275

IMG_8276

Just red light:IMG_8280

Red and blue together before the bounce was added:IMG_8285

All of the above shots were done in front of the white sheet. I found that the light distorted the shadows too much when we behind the sheet.

IMG_8272

This is from behind the sheet. The light makes the shadows to blurry which is not an effect I was going for. I don’t like how it distorts the shadow. Also how the light makes some features of the face larger than they should be because I put the light on an angle to make it look less bright instead of being directly behind Kit.

IMG_8296.jpg

In this shot the red is being bounced in the background. This is over powering the blue. Therefore I need to find a way to make it less bright, maybe by adding a diffuser in to the gel section. Also I held my phone torch in front of my face to see if I could show some facial features. I like the dark shadows it gives in my face, it makes it look creepy.

Another music video that uses contrasting colors is Bring Me The Horizon’s Shadow Moses

 

I love this video because of the way it was filmed. It was shot on two cameras and then overlapped to give the shaking effect. Also the contrasting colors of the flares is something I’ve been looking at. Id like to try the multi camera technique to see if I can use it to create a motion sickness effect adding to the horror side of my film. The only problem I have is mounting both cameras together. I would have to make something to mount them both equal distance apart. Also there is the problem of putting it together in premier.

Here are some screenshots of the video that use the contrasting colors I am:

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 11.08.41 AM

I think the red and blue contrast with the snow really well. The red emphasizes the anger in the lyrics.Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 11.08.58 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-07 at 11.08.03 AM

Another music video that uses red lights i Machine Gun Kelly’s alpha omega

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 1.40.35 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-07 at 1.36.39 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-07 at 1.37.02 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-07 at 1.37.59 PM

I like the red against the silhouettes, it makes it look evil. Again i find that the video reflects the lyrics in the song. The red symbolises anger, rage and hatred. Also that it symbolises the devil/hell.Devil.jpg

Red is used to show the devil because it is considered a warm color. This would like the devil to hell. However the red could be considered to mean lust. As in the devil is a figure of sexual attraction and red is love and lust towards him. There are many different interpretations on why red is specific to the devil. no one truly knows why, it is at the artists interpretation.

However I have found that Film Noir is a strong link to what i want to achieve with my project. It uses shadows and silhouettes to add emphasis to emotions that the film is trying to portray.

download

I like the shadows on her face in this photo. I think it makes her look mysterious and edgy. I think there is only a key light in this because of the dark shadows cast by her hat.

film-noir-bathroom

In this photos i like how crisp the silhouette is on the wall. I think there is a back light behind him because of the way the shadow that is casted is so crisp and has not got any blurry edges.

noir-film-pic

I like the effect the smoke gives in this photo. I think there is a light behind the man behind the smoke which is giving the silhouette of the woman. However there might be a light behind the woman too because of the shadows that have been cast on his face and suit.

The idea I have come up with to film is someone asleep dreaming. The idea is that the good dream will be with the blue light and will change in to red light when I attempt to recreate the double camera wobble.


I made this with the woodwork teacher so I could recreate the double camera effect. I took the heads off two tripods so that I could support the camera. I then drilled holes in a piece of wood to mount them. After that I took the base of a tripod and made a support for the underneath. I can take the wooden part off the base so that it can be hand held and more mobile. I test shot with this build to see if I could get the effect I wanted and after trail and error of moving them closer together and further apart I have the focal point I need now. The only issue I have is changing the focal point mid way through filming, however this could give a jagged effect which is what I’m looking for.

The idea i now have is a good idea i hope i can achieve.

Shot list:

Wc= Wobble cam

I think I can get away with filming all of this in the dark room.

  1.  Overhead of someone sleeping (dark room with single light), camera moves in to eyes as we see the dream comes to life. Close up.
  2. See them stand up and rub eyes, stumble a little bit.  Medium shot.
  3. Tries to get up but stumbles a bit. Medium from different angle.
  4. Walk around room to find their things. Wide
  5. Friends come out of darkness drinking from white cups. Gives person the drink. Wide.
  6. They take a drink out of white cup. Medium.
  7. Reaction to to drinking. Close of mouth.
  8. Pupils dialating. X Close. 
  9. Tries to walk and stumbles to the floor (red light starts) Wide.
  10. See them grab their head and fall to the floor. Pan around circle.
  11. Friends stand up and crowd round them, making them drink. Wide.
  12. Pan around circle, holing out hands with the cup. Pan round WC.
  13.  Pulls up sleeve to show black veins. Medium WC.
  14. Grabs hair/screaming. Medium Wc.
  15. Throws drink at the wall. Wide Wc.
  16. Wakes up with a gasp. Close up.

Story board:

Sorry for bad drawings and the photos being sideways. Shot 19 & 20 may not make the final cut because of timings and I don’t know what effect it will give. After creating my storyboard I cut some shots out because  will not have the time/ space to do them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - Case Study. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Case study – Film 9

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    Good work, Kayla! I’m pleased that you’ve pulled in a strong range of research sources, and that you’ve connected multiple sources in the goal of exploring shadows, silhouettes and colour contrast. For the avoidance of doubt, this makes cinematography a natural focus for your project; use your exploration of light as a springboard into achieving the aesthetics you like. Your interest in music videos could also tie into this. I think you simply have an instinct for how much you like these low-key lighting effects, which is great—but I would also like you to be a little more analytical in your work. Try to move beyond the knowledge that red/blue signify warm/cold emotions, and begin exploring how these connect with the story or feeling of the film.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

