Foley evaluation

Research

I found that studying soundscapes allowed me to become more creative in the way i heard sounds in order to make them sound like the sounds i needed to. I found that watching cartoons with no volume on made me realize how complicated soundscapes were. It let me pin point where sounds needed to go and the impact unrealistic sounds give to the animation. I also watched some behind the scenes to foley projects and the extremes the y go to to create different sounds and the variety of them. Another thing i did was going round college closing different doors or squeaking different chairs to see what kind of sounds i could get out of things. I applied these to the brief by being more imaginative in what i did. For example the chandelier moving in my final piece is my bracelet moving. Its a sound i hear all day everyday when i move my arm and it because unnoticed. It gave a subtle effect to the final piece i really like.

Planning

I had originally planned for the piece to be longer than it was because i was over confident about how easy this would be.The thing i struggled most with was how id get some of the sounds i needed. I found that some of them were in practical for me to do last minute ( due to missing college)so id not be able to do them. But after going through my animation a few times with no sound, i realized it was more complex that what i had originally thought. I had already written a list of sounds i needed and found that once i had cut my clip down i need more sounds to make it sound less empty. This is when i had the idea to add some creepy music and the old projector playing to emphasize the fact the image was old and worn, in the end i think this gave it an edge that i really liked.

Production

I had to consider that i wouldn’t have some of the things i needed still for example the match striking, i had to go out and buy a packet of matches and use a lot of them until i achieved the sound i wanted and what fit to the clip. Also that when i was ready to record the sound of the footsteps there was often people were in the corridors or that there was someone talking. I found that i had to get them recorded really quickly which didn’t allow me to get them timed to what i wanted because i wanted an echo effect. Another sound i struggled with was saying mamma, i found that i had to record my self saying the same phrase over and over in order to get it to work. In the end i couldn’t do it right and i had to change the speed of it to make it fit where i wanted. This ended up giving it a creepy effect which worked really well in the end and i like it a lot better.

Key lessons

The most important lesson i think i have learnt in this project is tho not underestimate sound, and you only notice bad sound. “Sound is more important than pictures. The audience will forgive you if an image is a little blurry but not if they can’t hear or understand what’s going on, Sound carries the story.” This quote is what i stuck to in my clip. I deliberately went for a clip that had a bad quality image so i could play on that later but i think i stuck by this quote in my final piece.

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - Foley. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Foley evaluation

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    This is a much better evaluation from you, Kayla—really well done. You’ve gone into far more detail in exploring the processes involved and your own decisions, and the evaluation is therefore a much stronger reflection on the Foley project. Well done for this, and I’d like to see it again in your next evaluations. To improve further, you to include the following things:

    1. The finished Foley piece as an embedded video.
    2. The original cartoon as an embedded video.
    3. Screenshots of your edit, and especially of particularly challenging bits
    4. Links or embedded videos of the behind-the-scenes clips you watched, and perhaps a little more about what they taught you?
    5. Links to where you found the quote—it’s a good one, but we need to know where it came from or who said it!
    6. To go even further, compare and contrast other Foley work with your own. In the original Mickey cartoon, for instance, the sound is actually not very good. In what ways have you improved the original? In what ways could you still go further?

    Overall, this is really good work, Kayla, and a clear step up. Including information like the material I’ve mentioned above is the next step in illustrating, demonstrating and exploring your ideas. Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

