New brief – Film poem

The photos show initial ideas on the new brief to find a poem and create a film about it. We decided that the poem we used was too complicated to use. 12272920_849256615191352_1309588472_n (1)This is because our idea was to base it on our generation, however it was too sad and didn’t capture what we were going for. This is when we decided to use the poem I AM AN ARTIST, we felt it summed up the Allen building students.

I am an artist.

My definition of art is creating
something with my hands that is an
expression of who I am.

Art is a part of me.
I can’t escape the urge to create,
to get out my feelings in the way
of paper and glue. Or losing myself
behind the lens of my camera.
I am so thankful for my art.

It’s my own personal therapy.
And in the process I am leaving my mark
in the works I create.

I am an artist.

And there is nothing else in the world
I would rather be.

We thought that having clips of individual departments would be nice to show off the talents, we picked: Art, Tech, Music, Theatre and film.We had to ask permission to go in to all the class rooms which made it feel more like a film project. You can see from the photos that we didn’t really have a shot list becuase it was hard to tell what the tutors were doing on the day. However we did write down certain shots we did want, we had a rough idea how it would work.

Nothing really went wrong when filming, there was the fact we had move all the gear from all the locations was the worst part! Although we had a schedule to stick to, we barley used it because most tutors let us film whenever we turned up.

I like the pan we used of Jade drawing I think it gives the film more variety with its shots, also how happy she looks in the shot.Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 10.39.15 AM Another shot i like is the lights being turned on by the tech students. The original shot was just a long clip of the lights being turned on and off, we did a few pan of the lights, but they were too long and when i increased the speed the effect wasn’t the same. So we decided that putting the lights in and out of focus would show the start of something and it made it look really great!Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 10.40.03 AMMy favorite shot is the theater students doing the 3 monkeys face, I matched it with the peak in the music and it works really well. I’m really happy with how it turned out. Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 10.39.33 AM

Despite the mad rush to find a new poem I think the new one we picked made the film better, we didn’t want to go for a negative vibe because we wanted it to represent the college.

We chose to use other students in our class to say a few lines in the poem, this is becuase everyone has different accents and voices. If we had one person speaking the poem the same effect. We all decide to say “I am an artist” together so it made it feel like a wider community of students, it also gives the phrase impact.

Overall I’m really happy with how the film turned out.

About kaylalaisby

My names Kayla and I'm a film student. And this is my blog. This is where I will be posting short films, music, photographs and other inspiring things to help me on my current college course. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Year One - Film poem. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New brief – Film poem

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    You’ve made a good film, Kayla—I’m really pleased with how it turned out too. I’d like your evaluation to go up a step, where possible—to connect your ideas to the research you did and the lessons you learned in your analysis. Is your film a good filmpoem? Does the poem have space to breathe? You’re really strong at discussing and exploring the practical process and decision-making, which is excellent, but I’d like you to go further and try to make some deeper connections to broader filmmaking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

